## PROJECT 2061 STAFF

Designs for Science Literacy has been a collaborative effort of the entire Project 2061 staff, under the leadership of the project's founding director F. James Rutherford and its associate director Andrew Ahlgren. Former staff members who contributed to the Designs effort include Sofia Kesidou, Senior Research Associate; Gerald Kulm, Program Director; Alan Stonebraker, Technology Specialist; and Luli Stern, Research Associate.

George Nelson Director Andrew Ahlgren Associate Director Ryan Arndt Project Assistant Vikas Arya Technology Specialist Lucia Buie Administrative Support Specialist Fernando Cajas Research Associate Ann Caldwell Research Associate Barbara Goldstein Administrative Coordinator Laura Grier Project Coordinator Terry Handy Writer Cheryl Jackson Administrative Support Specialist Mary Koppal Communications Director Lori Kurth Research Associate Lester Matlock Project Administrator Francis Molina Technology Director Kathleen Morris Senior Program Associate David Peery Technology Specialist Thelxiopi Proimaki Technology Specialist Jo Ellen Roseman Curriculum Director Susan Shuttleworth Senior Editor Brian Sweeney Webmaster Soren Wheeler Project Coordinator

Linda Williams Senior Financial Analyst

## PROJECT 2061 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS

Scott May Executive Director

Ayda Argueta Administrative Support Specialist

Mary Ann Brearton Professional Development Manager

Linda Hackett Math Workshop Leader

John Howe Marketing Manager

Regina Oglesby Project Assistant

Joseph Watson Marketing Associate

## PROJECT 2061 SCHOOL-DISTRICT CENTERS

GEORGIA
Sue Matthews Center Director
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Natalie Hiller Center Director
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Joan Drennan-Taylor Center Director
SAN DIEGO, CA
Danine Ezell Center Director
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Bernard Farges Center Director
WISCONSIN
Leroy Lee Center Director

## **REVIEWERS**

Erma Anderson National Science Teachers Association
Frank Betts Association for Supervision and Development
Chris Castillo-Comer Texas Education Agency
Theron Blakeslee Michigan Department of Education
Gerald Bracey Alliance for Curriculum Reform
Joe Exline Council of State Science Supervisors

REVIEWERS continued

Eileen Ferrance Northeast and Islands Regional Educational Laboratory at Brown University

**Deborah Fortune** American Association for Health Education

Thomas Hatfield National Art Education Association

Henry Heikkinen University of Northern Colorado

Pat Heller University of Minnesota

Marlene Hilkowitz Penn-Delco School District. PA

Paul Kimmelman Superintendent, West Northfield School District No. 31, IL

Martharose Laffey National Council for the Social Studies

Kathleen O'Sullivan San Francisco State University

Harold Pratt National Research Council

Steven Rakow University of Houston, Clear Lake

Colleen Reeve San Antonio Public Schools

Rita Rice School District of Philadelphia (retired)

Doug Roberts University of Calgary

John L. Roeder Teachers Clearinghouse for Science and Society

Gary Scott Resource Teacher, Los Angeles Unified School District

James Shymansky University of Iowa

Cary Sneider Boston Museum of Science

Ginny Van Horn Education and Human Resources,

American Association for the Advancement of Science

James Varnadore San Diego, CA

Decker Walker Stanford University

Sylvia Ware American Chemical Society

Robert E. Yager University of Iowa

Judith Young National Association of Sport and Physical

Education

John Zola The New Vista High School, Boulder, CO

**EDITORIAL** 

Barbara DeGennaro Indexer

Paul Elliott Wordsworth Communications

DESIGN AND PRODUCTION

Isely and/or Clark Design

Carol Hardy Design

Type Shoppe II Productions Ltd.

ART RESEARCH

Steve Diamond, Inc. **Photo Assist**